Board of Governors



The LAEDC Board of Governors is comprised of leaders from LA County businesses, government, and education. Our Meetings feature our economists at LAEDC’s Institute for Applied Economics and keynote speakers who present on critical organizational issues and  regional information.


To see our current list of Board Members click here.


Chair and Vice Chair of the Board 

Eric V. Rowen, Principal Shareholder, Greenberg Traurig LLP
Eric Rowen has served on LAEDC’s board on behalf of member Greenberg Traurig since 2006, as chair of LAEDC’s legal committee and also pro-bono legal counsel for more than a decade, and his service on LAEDC’s board dates back to 1993.  As a board member, Mr. Rowen has traveled with LAEDC to visit other EDCs throughout the nation to glean and catalog successful economic development practices, and better remodel and replicate those strategies for LA County.  In his role leading Greenberg Traurig’s real estate litigation practice, Mr. Rowen brings to the LAEDC an umatched understanding of the opportunities and challenges related to land use, real estate development and housing – one of our region’s most pressing challenges.  His work facilitating land acquisition for the Alameda Corridor rail system has been a game-changer for LA’s logistics industry, increasing cargo throughput and efficiency, while helping to make the San Pedro Ports the “greenest” in the world, a legacy that will be long celebrated.  Greenberg Traurig’s work in the advanced transportation industry cluster also sets a foundation for Mr. Rowen to support this and other fast-emerging industries in the LA basin, as part of the LAEDC’s dual strategy to build both labor demand and supply capacity in the region’s most competitive, concentrated and growing traded industries, such as aerospace, bioscience and digital media entertainment.

Dr. Dianne F. Harrison, President, California State University, Northridge 
Dr. Dianne F. Harrison will be the first academic leader elected to serve as Vice-Chair of LAEDC, at a time when understanding and preparing for the changing face of work is an increasing priority for the organization and its education, government and private sector members, especially with LAEDC’s ideation and launch of the Center for a Competitive Workforce with LA County’s 19 community colleges, the Los Angeles Orange County Regional Consortia, and the LA Area Chamber of Commerce.  As one of the founders of the “CSU5” collaboration of the five Cal State Universities in LA County, Dr. Harrison rallied support for providing funding, alongside many private sector and philanthropic organizations, for the implementation of the LA County Strategic Plan for Economic Development (2016-2020), which became Propel LA, located at the LAEDC.  Dr. Harrison has also been a vocal promoter of the role of innovation in our economy and in talent development, through CSUN investments in technology incubation.  Dr. Harrison is also known for her strong commitment to community and for building strong partnerships with public-, nonprofit- and private- sector organizations, which fits the LAEDC’s collaborative economic development approach. Dr. Harrison began her appointment as president of CSUN in June 2012. Prior to CSUN, Dr. Harrison served as president of California State University, Monterey Bay, and prior to that she worked at Florida State University.


2018 – 2019 Board Meeting Schedules

Date Time Location
Wednesday, September 19, 2018 7:30 a.m. – 9:30 a.m. Hosted by Nixon Peabody
Wednesday, November 28, 2018 7:30 a.m. – 9:30 a.m. SCAG
Wednesday, January 16, 2019 7:30 a.m. – 9:30 a.m. Junior Achievement
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 7:30 a.m. – 9:30 a.m. Hosted by Goodwill Southern California
Wednesday, June 19, 2019 7:30 a.m. – 9:30 a.m. Hosted by Grifols

Register here for the next meeting.   *Please note: This meeting is open to LAEDC Members only. To learn more on how to become a member, please contact Elsa Flores, Vice President of Strategic Relations at 213-236-4815 or at [email protected]