InfrastructurePublic Policy Action

LAEDC Issues Support for Metro ExpressLanes to Become Permanent Program

By April 16, 2014 No Comments

April 16, 2014

The Honorable Diane DuBois
Chairwoman, Metro Board of Directors
Councilwoman, City of Lakewood
One Gateway Plaza
Los Angeles, CA 90012-2952
Metro Board Secretary: [email protected]

Re: Support for Metro ExpressLanes I-110 and I-10 to become a Permanent Program

Dear Chairwoman Dubois:

On behalf of the Los Angeles County Economic Development Corporation (LAEDC), an organization dedicated to promoting job growth, economic expansion, and boosting the overall global competitiveness of Los Angeles County, and its Infrastructure Committee, we are writing to express our support of making the Metro ExpressLanes on the I-10 and I-110 Freeways a permanent program.

We also support careful review of opportunities for specific projects to expand the network by converting other carpool lanes (not general purpose lanes) to ExpressLanes in cases where there is capacity or capacity will be added to ensure the new express lanes will reduce congestion and not negatively impact traffic on adjacent lanes and parallel roads.

At the LAEDC, we are supporters of improving the planning, funding, delivery, and management processes of infrastructure projects. We see the Metro ExpressLanes Program as a way to reduce congestion on our freeways while simultaneously maximizing the investments made in our highways and transit lines. Since the launch of the program, there have been 26 million total vehicle trips, $30 million in toll revenue, issuance of nearly 250,000 transponders, and a time savings for ExpressLanes travelers.

For all of the above reasons, the LAEDC urges the Metro Board of Directors to make the ExpressLanes a permanent program. And we support careful, case-by-case expansion of the ExpressLanes network on carpool lanes on other freeways that connect to the region’s major job centers and will help to improve our region’s mobility, economy, and environment.


David Flaks
Chief Operating Officer, LAEDC

Steve Finnegan
Co-Chair, LAEDC Infrastructure Committee
Automobile Club of Southern California

Praful Kulkarni
Co-Chair, LAEDC Infrastructure Committee

Cc: Art Leahy, Metro CEO
All Metro Board Members